Wednesday, 14 March 2012

UK Jubilee Towns Win City Status

City status has been awarded to Chelmsford, Perth and St Asaph (in North Wales) to mark the Diamond Jubilee of the Queen in 2012 

The 3 towns beat off competition from 22 others, including the likes of Doncaster, Bournemouth, Luton and Milton Keynes to gain the coveted City status. This status however is only an honourable award, confering no additional status, power or function.

Perth City Centre

Only 1 city was expected to be awarded status, but in order to recognise the significance of all parts of the UK and the high quality of all the bids, a new City was created in England, Scotland and Wales.

St Asaph Cathedral
City status is rarely awarded in the UK with only 14 new City's created throughout the 20th century.
In 2000, Brighton, Inverness and Wolverhampton acquired the status to mark the new millennium.

No comments:

Post a Comment